The bare minimum auto insurance requirement for Oklahoma motorists is the liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage. Drivers are expected to carry proof of insurance all the times while driving anywhere within Oklahoma.
Mandatory vehicle registration financial responsibility requirements for cars driven or parked on Oklahoma roads must be provided when requested by a law enforcement officer, when involved in a car accident or when renewing vehicle registration.
Oklahoma minimum liability coverage
Liability coverage is mandatory in the State of Oklahoma. The minimum liability coverage amounts for the State of Oklahoma are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury for every passenger
- $50,000 bodily harm for all individuals involved in an accident
- $25,000 property damage liability
These figures only show the minimum amount set by state laws. However, auto insurance experts recommend that motorists should consider getting more than the minimum state-mandated amounts especially if they have assets that they are trying to protect.
These minimum amounts can’t be sufficient when they are involved in a car accident, and they need that helping hand. With the ever-rising cost of medical expenses and car repair, they need to look at possible ways of safeguarding their assets when the worst happens.
Also, getting the mandatory liability coverage alone won’t cover them in case of any damage to their own vehicle. Therefore, it is always a good idea to add comprehensive and collision coverage to their policy.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Oklahoma requires auto insurance companies to offer drivers uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but they are free to reject it. It isn’t mandatory.
However, if they choose to purchase the uninsured/underinsured coverage, the minimum coverage amounts should be $25,000. It is always good to buy this coverage in case of a road accident where the other driver isn't adequately insured.
The State of Oklahoma is a tort state that expects the driver who is at fault to be liable for bodily injuries and other losses caused to another person. The at-fault driver will pay the medical expenses for the victim and repair damage to their car.
The victim may also file a lawsuit demanding rightful compensation for lost wages, emotional and physical pain and suffering. No-fault insurance isn’t mandatory in Oklahoma.
Personal injury protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection is an extension of the auto insurance policy that is available in some states. The primary purpose of PIP is to cover medical expenses and in some rare cases lost wages in the event of a car accident. Oklahoma currently doesn’t require motorists to carry the personal injury protection policy.
Oklahoma SR-22 requirements
If a motorist’s driving privileges have been suspended or revoked in Oklahoma, they will be required to carry SR-22 coverage. The Oklahoma state law clarifies that the SR-22 car insurance form must be filed by motorists whose driving privileges have been revoked or suspended.
Failure to carry this form will result in a $500 fine and immediate suspension of driver’s license and registration. The SR-22 form is filed by their auto insurance provider and forwarded to the Oklahoma Department of Motor Vehicle to update the driver in the vehicle registration database.
Oklahoma DUI laws
Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other intoxicants is a huge offence in Oklahoma, and the consequences can be severe. According to Oklahoma DUI/DWI laws, motorists are considered intoxicated when their blood-alcohol content is 0.08% or more.
First-time offenders pay a fine of up to $1,000 and risk a jail term of up to one year. The driver's license for first-time offenders can be revoked for up to six months.
For second offenders, the jail term is between one and five years and a fine up to $2,500. Their driver’s license can be revoked for up to one year while the ignition interlock device will be required for up one year after the license revocation period.
Third time or subsequent offenders risk a fine up to $5,000 and a jail term up to ten years. The ignition interlock device will be required for up to three years after the license revocation period.