Any vehicle registered to operate in the state of Hawaii must be covered by sufficient insurance to meet the minimum legal state requirements, and a valid, current motor vehicle insurance identification card must be carried in the vehicle at all times. Failure to maintain insurance, or to produce a valid motor vehicle insurance identification card if confronted, can result in the motor vehicle owner being ticketed and fined.
If the owner of the motor vehicle does not maintain sufficient insurance, or if they allow the coverage to expire, they must surrender the registration certificate and all license plates to the county finance director and the vehicle cannot be driven.
If the owner maintains the legal minimum insurance required but operates the vehicle without the required motor vehicle insurance identification card, they can be ticketed and fined.
The following minimum motor vehicle insurance coverage levels are required by Hawaii state law:
The state of Hawaii requires that the minimum liability coverage is maintained at all times. The minimum required bodily injury liability is $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident, and the minimum requirement for property damage liability is $10,000 per occurrence. Although these are the state minimums, many drivers elect to carry higher levels for additional protection.
Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage is not required by the state of Hawaii but is highly recommended. A motor vehicle owner may elect to decline the coverage in writing if desired. Uninsured motorist coverage is usually a minimum of $20,000 per person which pays for serious injury or death if the other driver is not insured, or in the event of a hit and run accident. Underinsured coverage is also usually $20,000 per person which pays for injuries if the driver does not carry sufficient insurance coverage for their vehicle.
The state of Hawaii is a "no-fault" state. This means the vehicle owner's insurance pays for injuries to the driver and passengers in that vehicle up to the PIP limit specified in the coverage. Lawsuits are not permitted except for serious injuries. "No-fault" coverage applies to injuries only and not to vehicles or other property. The driver at fault is held responsible for physical damage to all vehicles and property in an accident.
Personal injury protection
Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, is required by the state of Hawaii. A minimum of $10,000 per person personal injury coverage must be maintained at all times to cover medical costs for personal injuries to the driver and passengers in an accident.
If a driver is determined to be high risk by the state of Hawaii, they may be required to file an SR-22 proof of insurance. The be eligible for SR-22 filing, their insurance coverage must meet the state minimum coverage of $20,000 bodily injury per person, $40,000 total per accident, $10,000 property damage and $10,000 PIP.
For additional information about insurance requirements in the state of Hawaii, visit the Motor Vehicle Insurance Information Page of the official state website hawaii.gov.