Any vehicle operated in the state of Mississippi must be covered by sufficient insurance to meet the minimum legal state requirements and proof of insurance must be available in the vehicle at all times. Proof may be provided in a printed motor vehicle insurance document, or it may be provided by electronic means by way of a computer or cell phone display.
Failure to maintain insurance, or to produce valid motor vehicle proof of insurance if confronted, can result in penalties to the motor vehicle owner. The initial penalty for failing to produce sufficient proof of insurance is a fine of up to $1,000 and suspension of driving privileges for up to one year, or until the owner of the motor vehicle produces proof of insurance.
The following motor vehicle insurance options are available to Mississippi residents, although not all are required:
Bodily injury liability
The state of Mississippi requires that bodily injury liability insurance is maintained at all times. The minimum required bodily injury liability is $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident. Although these are the state minimums, many drivers elect to carry higher levels for additional protection.
Property damage liability
The state of Mississippi requires that property damage liability insurance is maintained at all times. The minimum required property damage liability is $25,000 per accident, although many drivers elect to carry higher levels for their protection and security.
Uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist coverage is not required by the state of Mississippi, but it is highly recommended. A vehicle owner may elect to decline the coverage in writing if they desire. Uninsured motorist coverage is typically a minimum of $25,000 per person which pays for serious injury or death if the other driver is not insured or does not carry sufficient insurance coverage for their vehicle.
The state of Mississippi is not considered to be a "No-Fault" state, so in the state of Mississippi, the driver who is determined to be at fault is responsible for all injuries and property damage resulting from an accident.
Personal injury protection
Since the state of Mississippi is not considered to be a "No-Fault" state, personal injury protection, or "No-Fault" insurance, is not available. Instead, in the state of Mississippi, the driver who is at fault in an accident is responsible for all injuries, deaths and property damage.
In the state of Mississippi, a driver who has had their license suspended for failure to provide proof of sufficient insurance coverage will be required to file an SR-22 proof of insurance with the state. To be eligible for SR-22 filing, their insurance coverage must meet the state minimum coverage of $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 total per accident and $25,000 property damage coverage.
For additional information about insurance requirements and recommendations in the state of Mississippi, visit the state auto insurance page on the official state of Mississippi insurance website.