A vehicle owner in the state of Kansas is required to meet and maintain minimum state requirements for motor vehicle insurance on all vehicles. A current motor vehicle insurance identification card must be carried in the vehicle at all times. Failure to maintain insurance, or to produce a valid motor vehicle insurance identification card if requested by a law enforcement officer, can result in the owner being fined or sentenced to jail time.
A vehicle owner must maintain proof of continuous insurance coverage throughout the time the vehicle is registered. If a vehicle is determined to be in violation, the owner may be required to provide an SR-22 proof of insurance filing for 12 months, pay a fine of $300 to $1000, or possibly face jail time.
The state of Kansas requires the following motor vehicle insurance coverage levels and specifics:
Bodily injury liability
Bodily injury liability insurance covers the other person's medical expenses, rehabilitation or funeral expenses if you are found to be at fault in an accident. It also can cover legal expenses in a lawsuit.
The Kansas state minimum requirement for bodily injury liability insurance is $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident.
Property damage liability
Property damage liability insurance covers damage to other people's property in the form of repairing, replacing or paying at cash value if you are found to be at fault in an accident. It also can cover your legal expenses.
The Kansas state minimum requirement for property damage insurance is $25,000 total per accident.
Uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist insurance pays medical expenses, rehabilitation or funeral expenses for yourself or your passengers in an accident where the other driver was uninsured, failed to carry sufficient coverage for the needs or was a hit-and-run.
The Kansas state minimum requirement for uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist insurance is $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident.
The state of Kansas is what is known as a "no-fault" state, which means that personal injury protection insurance (PIP) is required. PIP pays for injuries to the driver and passengers of a vehicle regardless of who is at fault. PIP insurance covers medical expenses, rehabilitation, funeral expenses, lost wages and in-home care for the affected individuals.
Personal injury protection
The state of Kansas requires the following minimum levels of personal injury protection insurance, or PIP:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses.
- $900 per month for loss of income or for disability, for up to one year.
- $25 each day for required in-home health services, for up to one year.
- $2,000 for funeral and burial expenses.
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expense.
The state of Kansas requires that drivers maintain sufficient insurance throughout the time the vehicle is registered, and carry proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times. Failure to comply may require the owner to file an SR-22 proof of insurance with the state. To be eligible for SR-22 filing, the insurance coverage must meet the state minimum coverage of $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 total per accident, $25,000 property damage and all the specific levels of PIP.
The state of Kansas offers tips for insurance shopping, recommended additional insurance coverage information and specific details about insurance requirements. Visit the Kansas Insurance Department auto insurance page for more information.